Book Review: Murder in Chinatown

129536

Summary- Sarah goes to Chinatown to deliver the baby of a Chinese man and an Irish woman. A relative of the new mother goes missing and Sarah calls on Malloy to help find her. When the dead body of the girl is found Sarah and Malloy must work together and learn a great deal about life for the Chinese in America to solve the crime.

My Rating:

3/5

Of all the books in the series I think this was my least favorite. Overall, I love this series but this book just didn’t work for me.

Sarah and Malloy were enjoyable as always and I enjoyed their blossoming romance. Since I am binge reading the series I don’t mind that the romance moves a bit slow but if I had to wait a year for the next installment.

The last book in this series looked at Italian’s and Irish. This book looks at the Chinese during the early 1900’s and all of the challenges they faced.

I think my big issue was that the killer wasn’t obvious until they were. I guess what I mean is that they weren’t brought up as a suspect until the point where it was obvious they were the killer.

I think I felt like the book went a bit too fast and didn’t have a tone of substance though there were some important character arc things (which I won’t give away here).

I must confess that I read the book that followed this and it was amazing so if you feel like you might want to stop here go one more book. The next book in the series was my favorite so far and I really think that maybe Thompson just hit a snag with this book. Maybe she was too busy setting up the next one.

If you have not read this series I do highly recommend it. This is an amazing series and overall I love it. It is a series that really should be started at the beginning. This series has a huge character arc and honestly I can’t imagine a reader hopping in mid series. Believe me, I tried.

This is my favorite mystery series to date and I can’t wait to read the next book!

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

