Book Review: Chez Stinky

19416107

Summary: Kat’s aunt dies and leaves her with a house that is deep in disrepair a multitude of cats and dogs. Kat must decide if she wants to keep the house and the animals or find homes for the pets that have slowly wormed their way into her heart.

*At the time of this writing Chez Stinky is perma free on Amazon so if this book sounds like a good fit for you then grab it for free.

My rating: 3/5

I really wanted to love this book but I just didn’t.

I liked the animals in the story. I think they were the best part of this book. The animals are a real handful and I think people who have had crazy animals will be able to relate to this book.

There are also many funny moments. I have a lemon of a house too and so I was sympathetic to Kat’s issues as she tried to get repairs done. It reminded me just a bit of the Tom Hanks movie the money pit.

While the book was funny at times it didn’t really feel like a romantic comedy to me which is what I was expecting. There is romance but it just isn’t very front and center to the book. I would have called it a comedy with a romantic subplot.

My other issue with the book was that I really didn’t like Kat. I felt like she was more of a let stuff happen to her girl and only when she was pushed really hard did she make a move. She is definitely not a take charge person. She is a quirky character but I didn’t find her enduring as the author probably intended.

If you love comedies involving animals and home repairs then give this book a try. If you are looking for a romantic comedy you probably are better off looking elsewhere.

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

