Book Review: Writing Mysteries

297179

Summary: Various mystery writers team up to teach about the craft of writing mysteries.

My rating: 4/5

I really enjoyed this book about writing mysteries. I picked it up because I am planning to write my first romantic suspense and I wanted to understand how the mystery part of the book should work.

Much of the information covered is true for mysteries and other fiction. The book covers work routines, collaboration, outlining vs “pantsing”  and many other topics. All the topics were slanted towards the mystery writer so even if someone has been writing in other genres there was much to learn in this book.

This book is more geared towards writers wanting to take a traditional publishing route and several chapters of the book I ended up skipping because I am indie and not currently looking to go traditional.

If you are thinking about writing mysteries I recommend picking up this book. It was educational and fun to read as well.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

