Book Review: How to Write a Mystery

391523

Summary: Non fiction book about how to write a mystery.

My rating: 3/5

I loved the tone of this book. The author is funny and this is an entertaining book to read. I found some good information but honestly I felt like it was a bit on the vague side. I picked this book up hoping to better understand how to write mystery as I am planning to add mystery as a sub plot to a romance. I closed the book with a few valuable tips but still not feeling anywhere near ready to tackle writing a mystery of my own.

One thing that I had very mixed feelings about was all the examples that the author gave. In some cases it was helpful but it some cases it felt dull. There were times that it did help clarify what he was saying but much of the time it felt like it was there to just reinforce an idea. I skipped many of the examples.

One other thing to note about this book is that some things are a bit outdated. This book came out before self publishing was really a thing and the authors comments about self publishing are really not relevant today. I feel like a whole lot that was said about the marketing and selling of books is probably out of date now.

This book felt like much more of a beginner guide than I needed. This book is best for beginning writers. It will be of less use for writers who have experience but are wanting to try a new genre.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

