Book Review: The Mystery of the Blue Dolphins

24223264

Summary: Clarissa goes to visit her cousin and gets caught up in the mystery of a jewel heist and her uncle’s murder.

My rating: 2/5

I really hate to rate a readable mystery at a 2 but I just couldn’t justify a 3.

This book was so short it felt more like a summary of a mystery rather than a mystery itself. In fairness, I haven’t read many short stories that were mysteries so it is possible that this kind of story is not for me but that Sandra Baublitz executed it in the manner typical of the form.

Suspects were presented so rapidly that I had no idea who anyone was or what their motives were. Clarissa seems a bit unaware of her world. She found a buried red dress but the next morning comments “to be honest I had completely forgotten it.” Who finds something that weird and then just forgets about it?

Everything was just too fast for my taste. About the only thing I can say good about the book is that it is a quick read and there is no useless description. It is as to the point as you can get.

I don’t recommend this book to readers unless they really are looking for a bare bones mystery. I didn’t enjoy it.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

