Book Review: When Bunnies Go Bad

26452357

Summary: Pru Marlowe is a pet psychic who also happens to find herself in the wrong place at the wrong time where dead bodies are concerned. An obnoxious out of town tourist was murdered and Pru finds herself swept deep into the mystery.

3/5

I had very mixed feeling about this book. On one hand it was lots of fun to read. I didn’t want to put it down. I liked it enough that I plan to read another book or two in the series but I am not sure if it is a series I will finish.

I found many places in the book confusing. Some of that may have been because this is book 6 in the series and I hadn’t read one. It could also be the style the book is written in. The point of view is first person and sometimes following Pru’s thoughts had me confused. Similarly, many of her thoughts felt flawed. I also had mixed feelings about her as a character. In some ways she reminds me of Temperance Brennan from Bones (the television show not the books). I love Temperance but in some ways Pru felt more forced. She looks at the world through a very specific animalistic and nature based way. It was intriguing but also annoying at times. Also, Pru is an alcoholic which made her a bit harder for me to relate to.

I didn’t like the conclusion of the mystery either. The end felt really rushed.

This book has a cool concept and maybe if I had read book one I wouldn’t have struggled with the things that bothered me. I do think this book is worth giving a try especially if you love animals.

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

