Book Review: Buddy(How a Rooster Made Me a Family Man)

13532222

Summary: Brian marries into a family which includes two step daughter and a chicken named Buddy.

 

My rating: 3/5

The truth is that I would give this book a rating closer to 2.5. Isn’t bad enough to justify a 2 but I didn’t really like it enough to categorize it with my other 3/5 either.

I am a huge animal lover so I was drawn to this book because it is about a man and his relationship to a pet. Sorta.

Honestly, I spent the first part of the book begging the narrator to get to the point. He goes off on tangents about his first dog and how awesome that dog was. He talks about a ton of other things that are barely relevant to plot. He isn’t very likable (though, as the book is autobiographical props for being so honest) either.

In a nutshell the narrator hates the chicken and is kinda a jerk. The chicken is a loyal pet to his step kids even if he is a pain in the butt at times. Moral of the story is be loving and be present. Takes the author whole book to realize this and it is a very long and often dull journey there.

Brian’s new wife and kids were spoiled brats. I got really frustrated with them throughout the books as they showed now gratitude or respect for him. I thought the kids were spoiled and the mom was unreasonable much of the time.

If you are looking for a feel good or even a humorous story about a city family and their adorable pet chicken this isn’t that story.

I almost quit reading it several time and mostly only finished to see if the author ever explained how the chicken made him a family man because for the majority of the book I wasn’t sure he was ever going to get there.

Not for me.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

