Book Review: All Around the Town

170619

Summary: Laurie was kidnapped as a child though she has no memory of the two years she was held captive.

Now, she is being investigated for the murder of her English Professor. Her sister and defense attorney, Sarah, wants her evaluated by a psychiatrist because she thinks there is a good chance they can plead not guilty by reason of mental defect or disease.

As the psychiatrist starts to investigate it quickly becomes clear that things are much more complicated than they appear.

My rating:

4/5

I hadn’t planned to read this book. I don’t think I have ever read a Mary Higgins Clark book before though I plan to read more in the future. I actually read this book because I saw the movie and was really intrigued by the story. As usual, the book was better.

This is a fast paced story with lots of sub plots happening. It kept me on my toes from start to finish.

It was different and interesting. I love books about mental health conditions and I was intrigued by the difficulties Laurie faced in the story.

I also loved that her past wasn’t left in the past. The kidnapping isn’t just backstory. Her abductor is still taunting Laurie in the present (not really a spoiler since it mentions this fact on the back of the book).

The only complaint I have about the book is a small one. The narration feels very distant. Example of what I mean: “John and Marie Kenyon flew to Pittsburgh. Laurie had been taken to a hospital to be checked out. The next day on the noon editions of the news, Sarah watched as her mother and father left the hospital (17).”

The distant narration didn’t bother me much since I had watched the movie and already generally knew the story but I am not sure if it would have been harder for me to enjoy the story if I had read it instead of watching it first. I will read a few more of Clark’s books and see if I can get past the narration being so distant.

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

